Losing trick count principles served us well yesterday as Mary O. and I posted a nice score. We had several good scores in major suit part-score contracts as we were able to judge well and stay out of game.
On this hand I had bigger things in mind (board 23):
After two passes I opened 1♦ and partner responded 1♥. What would you bid?
As I had only 4 losers I definitely wanted to be in game and slam might very well be in the cards. Various bids are possible, but I took the straightforward path of jumping to 4♥. (4♦ is a possibility, but we hadn't discussed that bid). It turns out that partner held both black aces, 4 small hearts and 2 small diamonds. Hearts broke 3-2 with the queen doubleton onside so she had no heart losers. Her only loser turned out to be the king of diamonds when the finesse lost. Diamonds broke 2-2, however, so she had no trouble taking 12 tricks.
With her 8-loser hand she probably should have made a slam try, but plus 680 turned out to be a good score.
Happy New Year!
See you at the table!